Leaving the scene of a car accident is considered a serious crime in Manchester. However, people, whether they’re scared or want to avoid responsibility, can still find themselves fleeing an accident. Unfortunately, hit-and-run accidents can cause severe damage from the moment of impact. Drivers who flee an accident scene cause real damage and make it harder for the victim to recover compensation. Trying to recover compensation from an unknown party is incredibly difficult.
The attorneys at Kenison Law Office are ready to help you find the best option for recovering fair compensation. While it can be complicated to recover compensation after a hi-and-run accident, it’s often not impossible. Kenison Law Office has the ability to speak to you immediately and works with in-house investigators to thoroughly investigate your accident claim. We look at every aspect of your case to help ensure we maximize the value of your potential claim. Contact our firm today to help ensure you get the best resolution for your hit-and-run claim.
New Hampshire Hit-And-Run Laws
Drivers who are negligent and harm but flee the scene of the accident are not only liable (financially responsible) for your injuries, but they’re breaking the law. In New Hampshire, fleeing the scene of an accident is a crime. When drivers cause or are involved in an accident, they should do the following:
- Stay at the scene
- Move their car out of the way (if hazardous to other drivers or directed by law enforcement)
- Provide aid to anyone hurt
- Contact law enforcement
- Exchange contact information and insurance information
- Stay at the scene until directed by law enforcement
Furthermore, an accident report must be filed if the combined damages exceed $500 or if the accident leads to injury or fatalities.
Drivers who flee the scene may be charged with a misdemeanor which carries a maximum penalty of one year in jail and a fine of $2,000. Fleeing an accident scene turns into a felony if the following apply:
- There was physical injury to the other parties involved
- The damage was over $1,000
- The defendant has previously left the scene of a hit-and-run accident
A hit-and-run becomes a Class B felony if the accident leads to a fatality. It’s important to contact a knowledgeable and experienced Manchester hit-and-run accident lawyer who can build a strong personal injury case to recover fair compensation.
Will Insurance Cover You After a Hit-And-Run Accident?
Your personal auto insurance policy may cover you if the hit-and-run driver cannot be found, depending on your policy. However, the first step is to try and find the other driver. Ideally, you’d be able to locate them and file a claim against their insurance company to recover damages.
If the other driver is not located or you wish to recover compensation without waiting for the other driver to be found, a few coverage options are available. In New Hampshire, if you purchase auto insurance, you must also purchase at least $1,000 in medical payment coverage. This coverage may allow you to file for medical expenses reimbursement whether the other driver is found or not.
New Hampshire also requires people to buy uninsured motorist coverage. The coverage for uninsured motorists coverage will typically be equal to the liability limits. This policy may be able to cover your damages following a hit-and-run accident. With a full coverage policy, collision coverage may also be used for vehicle damages, although you may have to pay a deductible.
Determining Liability in Hit-And-Run Accidents
When law enforcement obtains the driver responsible for fleeing the scene, they’re charged with a crime for causing the accident and fleeing the scene. Courts use a legal concept called “the consciousness of guilt” to determine liability. This concept explains that fleeing the accident could imply an admission of guilt and may be used as evidence to support liability.
If the driver flees and law enforcement is unable to locate them, the injured party can make an uninsured motorist claim. An experienced attorney understands the complexities and nuances that are involved in hit-and-run cases and can use that to move your case towards a favorable outcome.
Why Do You Need a Hit-And-Run Accident Lawyer?
Depending on the severity of your injuries and the length of your projected recovery, the financial impact of a hit-and-run accident can add up fast. However, with the other driver fleeing, it can be difficult to know where to turn. This is why it’s essential to contact a Manchester injury attorney who can fight for your right and help ensure you recover the compensation you’re entitled to. Experienced attorneys know how the system works. They can negotiate with insurance companies, take legal action, and protect your right to fair compensation.
Additionally, it’s important to remember that you only have a limited amount of time to take legal action after a hit-and-run in New Hampshire. Generally, you have three years from the date of the accident. If you miss the deadline, you may lose your right to take legal action. A lawyer protects your rights and ensures your best interests are the priority.
Contact a Skilled Manchester Hit-And-Run Attorney Today
Hit-and-run cases are complicated. Making even a slight error in the process can mean missing out on the opportunity to obtain fair compensation for your injuries and related losses. The claim process may be complicated even when you file with your own insurance, since the other driver was never located. While it should be easier to file a claim with your own uninsured motorist insurance, there’s no guarantee your claim will be approved. This is why it’s important to have an experienced attorney on your side.
At Kenison Law Office, we have settled hundreds of automobile accident cases, including multiple hit-and-run accident cases. We have extensive experience working with insurance companies to resolve our client’s cases and obtain the best possible results. Our personal injury lawyer will work hard for you to resolve your case, whether through settlement or going to trial if necessary. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation at 603-945-7142 or complete our contact form.